Current Search:
Page of 2

Dear Mrs. LaRue: Letters from Obedience School (Audiobook Read-Along)

Age: 4-8 | Grade: Grades Pre-K-3
Summary: A dog laments his fate at obedience school through a series of hilarious letters home.

FORMAT: Paperback Book & CD

NARRATOR: TBA

When Ike Larue is "imprisoned" at the Igor Brotweiler Canine Academy, he tries everything to get sent home - weepy letters to his owner, even illness. In reality, Brotweiler is more like camp than prison, but still, Ike's not cut out for life without Mrs. LaRue & his creature comforts. Finally, he runs away only to find himself back in Snort City - just in time to save Mrs. LaRue's life.




Biography:

Mark Teague is an award-winning children's book author/illustrator whose books include the How Do Dinosaurs series, his Dear Mrs. LaRue series, FIREHOUSE!, and recently his first novel, THE DOOM MACHINE, which received excellent reviews. Mark lives in New York state with his wife and their two daughters.

Available Formats:

Audio CD & Paperback: $6.99

Bad Case of Stripes (Audiobook)

Age: 4-8 | Grade: Grades Pre-K-2
Summary: Camilla Cream loves lima beans, but she never eats them. Why? Because the other kids in her school don't like them. And Camilla Cream is very, very worried about what other people think of her. In fact, she's so worried that she's about to break out in...a bad case of stripes!

Available Formats:

Paperback: $6.29

Hardcover: $11.89

Audio CD: $6.97

Paperback - Spanish: $5.59

Alice the Fairy (Audiobook Read-Along)

Age: 3-8 | Grade: Grades Pre-K-1
Summary: Alice has a nose for trouble, but luckily she's a fairy--a Temporary Fairy. She has a magic wand, fairy wings, and a blanket, all of which she uses to disappear, to fly, and to turn her father into a horse! There are still a few things Alice needs to learn to become a Permanent Fairy, like how to float her dog on the ceiling and make her clothes put themselves away, but she's working on it--sort of. This endearing, funny story about a girl and her vivid imagination, is sure to delight every fairy in training!

Available Formats:

Hardcover: $11.89

Audio CD: $6.97

Is Your Mama a Llama? (Audiobook Read Along)

Age: 3-8 | Grade: Grade Pre-K
Summary: For more than two generations this fun story and guessing game, told in "whimsical verse that begs to be read aloud" (Kirkus Reviews), has featured a curious young llama named Lloyd posing the title question, again and again, to all his young animal friends, including a bat, a swan, a cow, a seal, a kangarooand#8230;and one whose identity helps solve the puzzle at the touching, endearing, and very satisfying end.

Adults, including parents, teachers, and librarians, love this book as much as young readers do because the read-aloud verses are fun, invite group participation, and are just so catchy some people have even set them to music! Most parents and teachers say it's one of the few books they never tire of reading aloud, again and again. Enhancing the story are the beautifully rendered illustrations by the legendary Steven Kellogg, which captivate readers of all ages. An essential picture book for every preschool and early-reader library!

Available Formats:

Paperback: $5.59

Audio CD: $6.99

Paperback - Spanish: $5.59

There Was A Cold Lady Who Swallowed Some Snow (Read-Along)

Age: 4-8 | Grade: Grades Pre-K-2
Summary: This cold lady is swallowing everything from snow, to a pipe, some coal, a hat, and more! With rollicking, rhyming text, funny illustrations, and a hilarious ending, this lively version will appeal to young readers everywhere.

Available Formats:

Audio CD: $6.97

The Magic School Bus: Climate Challenge (Audiobook Read-Alongs)

Age: 4-10 | Grade: Grades Pre-K-3
Summary: Trust the bestselling science series of all time to get down to the facts on global warming, so kids can understand the crisis - and how they can help solve it.

Like it or not, global warming is a hot topic, and it will affect the younger generation the most. So why not turn to the teacher kids like the most, Ms. Frizzle! Only the Friz can boil all the hoopla down to the scientific facts in a fun and informative way.

With trademark simplicity and wit, Joanna Cole explains why the earth is getting warmer, and Bruce Degen's bright, action-filled illustrations make the science easy to understand and fun to learn. This team brings a new, improved understanding to climate change, engaging kids and empowering all. Teachers will cheer!

Kids already love the Magic School Bus, and the love to do what's right by the planet. At last, a way to teach the curriculum and make an impact!

Available Formats:

Hardcover: $11.89

Audio CD: $6.99

Marty McGuire Digs Worms! (Audiobook)

Age: 4-8 | Grade: Grades Pre-K-4
Summary: A funny, accessible chapter-book series about an irrepressible third grader.

Marty McGuire's third-grade class has received a special assignment: Save the Earth! Even more exciting, the best project wins a special award. Marty's pretty sure her classmates' ideas won't stand a chance against her plan to turn the garbage from the school cafeteria into fertilizer - with a little help from the earthworms in her Grandma's garden.

But it turns out that worms are awfully SLOW eaters. And when the critters escape, the whole class - including Marty's supposed teammate and best friend, Annie - starts grumbling. In the end, Marty's dirt takes the prize, and she learns no one can save the earth without two very important things: teamwork and patience.

Contributors:

Kate Messner grew up in a small town in western New York. After studying journalism and working as a television reporter, she became a middle-school English teacher. Her first novel, The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z, was published to great acclaim in 2009. Kate lives in Plattsburgh, NY, and you can find her online at www.katemessner.com

Brian Floca is the author and illustrator of MOONSHOT: THE FLIGHT OF APOLLO 11 and LIGHTSHIP, both Sibert Honor Books. He has illustrated Avi's award-winning Poppy series and, most recently, Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan's BALLET FOR MARTHA: MAKING APPALACHIAN SPRING. Brian grew up in Texas and now lives in Brooklyn, New York. Find him online at www.brianfloca.com.

Available Formats:

Audio CD: $13.96

Storm Runners (Audiobook)

Age: 9-12 | Grade: Grades 4-7
Summary: The first in a middle-grade action-adventure series from Roland Smith!

Chase Masters and his father are "storm runners," racing across the country in pursuit of hurricanes, tornadoes, and floods. Anywhere bad weather strikes, they are not far behind. Chase is learning more on the road than he ever would just sitting in a classroom. But when the hurricane of the century hits, he will be tested in ways he never could have imagined.

Format: 4 CDs, Unabridged

Narrator: TBA

Available Formats:

Paperback: $4.79

Hardcover: $11.89

Audio CD: $18.19

Wolves of The Beyond #1: Lone Wolf (Audiobook)

Age: 9-12 | Grade: Grades 4-6
Summary: A wolf mother has given birth, but the warm bundle snuffling next to her brings only anguish. The pup, otherwise healthy, has a twisted leg, and the mother knows what the harsh code of the pack demands. Her pup will be taken from her and abandoned on a desolate hill. The pack cannot have weakness - the wolf mother knows that her pup is condemned to die. But alone in the wilderness, the pup, Faolan, does not perish. This is his story - a story of survival, of courage, and of love triumphant. This is Faolan's story, the wolf pup who rose up to change forever the Wolves of the Beyond.

Available Formats:

Paperback: $5.59

Hardcover: $11.19

Audio CD: $20.99

Game Changers #2: Play Makers (Audiobook)

Age: 8-12 | Grade: Grades 3-7
Summary: Still living large off their incredible football championship win just weeks before, Ben McBain and his crew must now prepare for basketball season. Ben is known as the best point guard in the league. And now that Shawn O'Brien has joined their team, they are a shoe-in to win it all. But there is another new kid in town, Chase Braggs, a point guard like Ben who seems to be better, stronger, and faster. Refusing to let his team down, Ben hits the courts hard to practice. But with Ben not around his best friend Lily has been hanging out with Chase and she thinks he's a cool guy. Ben's frustration with Chase is starting to affect his relationship with Lily. Will Ben be able to pull it together for his team and for himself?

Contributors:

Mike Lupica is a NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of several books for young readers. His NEW YORK DAILY NEWS column is syndicated nationally. Mr. Lupica lives in Connecticut with his wife and their four children. You can visit Mike Lupica at www.mikelupicasbooks.com.

Available Formats:

Paperback: $5.59

Audio CD: $20.99

Words in the Dust (Audiobook)

Age: 8-12 | Grade: Grades 3-8
Summary: Format:unabridged audio on 7 CDs

In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her - "Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to the village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha - but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

Contributors:

Trent Reedy is the author of WORDS IN THE DUST, an Al Roker's Book Club pick on the Today Show. Born and raised in Iowa, where he taught high school English, Trent and his wife now live in Spokane, Washington. Please visit his website at www.trentreedy.com.
Winner of the Christopher Medal

Available Formats:

Paperback: $5.59

Audio CD: $20.99

Floors #1 (Audiobook)

Age: 9-12 | Grade: Grades 4-6
Summary: Narrator: Jesse Bernstein

Format: 5 CDs, Unabridged

Charlie had his chocolate factory. Stanley Yelnats had his holes. Leo has the wacky, amazing Whippet Hotel.

The Whippet Hotel is a strange place full of strange and mysterious people. Each floor has its own quirks and secrets. Leo should know most of them - he is the maintenance man's son, after all. But a whole lot more mystery gets thrown his way when a series of cryptic boxes are left for him... boxes that lead him to hidden floors, strange puzzles, and unexpected alliances. Leo had better be quick on his feet, because the fate of the building he loves is at stake... and so is Leo's own future!

Available Formats:

Audio CD: $18.19

Page of 2